Bogs' Big Adventure

Recapping CDMX, Guatamala, and Chicago

The email equivalent of a lawn flamingo, by Erica Bogdan

Hey girlfriends, boyfriends, theyfriends - 

HOW ARE YOU? or should I say Qué tal?

The last time I checked in, I was on the first leg of my Big Adventure to Mexico City and Guatemala. I was scared about the solo-travel, but everything went off without a hitch. I didn’t get kidnapped, and I feel so empowered to keep expanding my world whether or not I have someone to travel with. Today I’m recapping the trip.

LEG 1: CDMX

I met up with my friend Camille in Mexico City, who planned the most beautiful 48 hours I could imagine. I stayed at Hotel San Fernando in La Condesa, which I would totally recommend. Camille is in luxury travel planning and has been digital-nomading for the past few years, so I really couldn’t have been in better hands. We had a lot of fun in the short window I was there and covered the full spectrum of activities - yoga, a DJ set, and an architecture tour of Casa Pedregal to name a few. When we were touring Casa Pedregal I lost my SHIT when I peeked into the kitchen (which wasn’t a part of the official tour, I’m so sneaky!!!) and realized that it was the exact kitchen that has been the centerpiece of my Home Inspo board on Pinterest for the past year. I had no idea it was a part of this house - and when I tell you I had full body chills, I HAD FULL BODY CHILS! It felt like a wink from the universe to keep chasing that dream. 

All in all, I LOVED my time in CDMX and my only regret is that I didn’t stay longer or have time to get a tattoo appointment with Havi. Next time! Thank you Camille for an incredible few days. And thank you to my girl Cecilia who hooked it up with the most LEGIT list of recommendations I’ve ever received for a city.

The coworking space at TETETLÁN

LEG 2: GUATEMALA

After CDMX, I hopped on a flight to Guatemala City, took a two hour taxi to Antigua, where I spent the night at Meson Panza Verde, probably the nicest hotel I’ve ever stayed in in my life. The bathtubs!!! I die!!! The next morning, I met up with a group to travel another three hours to Lake Atitlán for The Gateway (which was co-led by one of my beloved mentors Helen, who you might remember her from my apartment origin story). The week was gorgeous - spiritually, physically, and everything in between - and I left feeling incredibly energized and excited to keep breathing life into Brightsiding. We stayed at Villa Sumaya, and when we weren’t in workshops or yoga classes, I was in a hammock staring wistfully at a volcano.


The purpose of the Gateway was all about reconnecting to your potential, clearing limiting beliefs, and resurfacing your gifts. After a pretty intense past 6 months, the trip came at the perfect time. I’m constantly trying to strike a balance with work, Brightsiding, Current, and you know, just being a healthy human, good friend, etc. – and like I said recently, I’ve been feeling burnt out. It was helpful to step away from it all to reflect, and I feel very privileged that I had the opportunity to do that. I met some incredible people - and even reunited with one of my former residents from college, if you can believe!! - and I know I’ll be buzzing from the magic of this experience for a long time. I also made a decent dent on Dune, which I’m hoping to finish before the new movie leaves theaters so I can watch it in IMAX with a well-earned superiority complex. 

LEG 3: CHICAGO

Sadly, the trip ended on a sad note – my grandfather (87 years old!!!) passed away, so I flew straight from Guatemala to Chicago this weekend to celebrate his life with my family. I’m one of 16 (!!!!) first cousins, and it was the first time we were all together in 8 years - and as sad as the occasion was, it was AMAZING to reconnect with them. It’s like, all of the sudden we’re all grown up, and we all have this profound respect and appreciation for one another. I’m obsessed with all of them, and now we have a group chat where I can remind them of that on the reg. Meaghan and I will be recapping the funeral/reunion on the pod soon, so look out for that. 

Papa and Grammee Lynn, stunting

All in all, the past few weeks completely reinforced my love of adventure and reminded me that all of this hard work is leading me to my dream life. It’s not going to be easy, but that was never the game. So happy to be back in NYC for a bit - let’s do this, spring!!!

Anyway, that’s the latest from me. Sending lots of love. 

Bogs

Ooops, already bought these Rudy Jude jeans after 2 Cervo’s martinis the other night.

Join the conversation

or to participate.