Kate Moss is my Spiritual Advisor

Sometimes we chat

The email equivalent of a lawn flamingo, by Erica Bogdan

Sometimes I talk to Kate Moss. 

I have this slightly-larger-than-life size print of her in my apartment, on loan from my brother. In it, she’s wearing a cheetah print trench coat, holding a cigarette in her right hand, hair tousled just so, mouth slightly agape with a cool-girl pout and eyes that say “what?”

My Spiritual Advisor, Kate Moss

And sometimes I go to her for advice. She doesn’t always respond, but when she does, it’s helpful.

Recently, she moved from her perch in my living room to one of my bedside tables, currently fashioned as a small meditation altar. Her look is so striking that sometimes just a glance from her is all it takes to bring me back to reality. Like when I find myself worked up about a crush, or if I’m overthinking anything from an outfit choice to how to respond to a client of mine. 

Other times, she has more to say. She’s not a woman of many words (at least in my conjecture) - she’s efficient and to the point. She has this no-nonsense air about her that helps me recenter quickly, and she’s most helpful in moments where I need to be reminded to stay in my power. If I sound insane, well, at least I’m not back on my 8-Ball habit, right? 

Insane or not - the answer to my “what would Kate Moss do” thought experiment is, unfortunately for me, a lot of time, less

One thing about me is that I’m a maximalist through and through. With my words, actions, and style, I am someone who is often doing the most - and I don’t know, there’s something about this one image of Kate that just reminds me that sometimes doing the most is actually doing the least. 

My Kate Moss Altar

It’s not that I idolize Kate Moss — in fact, I don’t know much about her aside from her status as a supermodel and once-upon-a-time girlfriend to Johnny Depp. 

So it’s not a personal connection or even deep reverence that brings me to her altar. It’s just her vibe. 

Kate isn’t the first imaginary advisor I’ve had in my life. A few moodboards ago, I spoke to Adele and Sophia Roe and Chani Nichols and Reese Witherspoon with the same sense of seeking. 

They all seem to point me back to myself in a way that’s really helpful, silly as it might sound. I’d go to them in moments of frustration, or seeking clarity, and they’d always seem to have the right words. Sometimes comforting, sometimes stern, I always seemed to get what I needed from them. 

So if you find yourself in need of a little guidance today, maybe imagine who your make-believe-fairy-godmother or older sister might be, and what she’d say to you. I think you’ll find the answers come quickly … and if you really pause to reflect … you might even notice that those messages aren’t coming from someone else at all. They’re coming from you.

Right now, Kate is looking down at me as I try to explain my relationship to her to you, and she’s saying “wrap it up, Bogs”. Aye, aye, captain. Hope you have a great weekend everybody. Sending boundless love.

Join the conversation

or to participate.